Sculptural painting techniques with psychedelic compositions

I’m using sculptural techniques to create paintings inspired by incredible hyper saline environments photographed by George Steinmetz (Desert Air). I also think that these pieces reference pop culture on contemporary media platforms online, I say this because my process creates a glitch like texture that shows evidence of many layers on the surface. I use a technique I call eroding, that involves building up layers to then sand back down (erode) to reveal many layers with contrasting colours that looks psychedelic, quite unusual and of another world.

I’d loved to hear what this work represents to you and why and if my statement above is understandable. My aim as an artist is to enlighten people with new original work and not to make people stray away from art because of the wording that is used to describe the artwork itself.

Leave a Reply

