Working up texture on some canvas I brought off of Leicester market

I brought this really thin canvas that was like linen really, like the stuff summer shirts are made of, it took a lot of primer off of me. I built it up with gesso primer, red emulsion paint and modroc. I then I paint over that with acrylic paint, I like to build up multiple layers as I am trying to represent in my own way a heavily worked wall in a city, with the remains of posters and old graffiti with some of the plaster coming through or brick work. I really like that type off rough city edginess, the underground, the secretive and mysterious goings on, the rats running round at night where people buy food in the day.

IMG_5211[1]IMG_5251[1]IMG_5257[1]

Leave a Reply

